Tags

, ,

Autumn2

It was eleven years and twenty five days ago, but there are some things in life one never forgets.

The bus driver stopped in the middle of the road and told me to get off right there. The way to the bus stop was blocked by construction work. And so I got off in the middle of nowhere, in the middle of nowhere in a foreign country I had never been to before. The bus drove away leaving me and my suitcase on an empty road. I took a deep breath and looked around. A quiet street on a September evening. Cars parked on a side walk, their roofs covered with leaves. Leaves everywhere. Red, yellow, green. A wind blow, and here they come, dancing in the air till they silently reach the ground.

It was eleven years and twenty-five days ago, but there are some things in life one never forgets. Every year when the sun dyes the trees yellow, when the leaves rustle under my steps, I take a deep breath and smell something in that autumn air that always makes me remember the day I finally reached home.

Inspired by “The Write Practice“.

