Tags

, , ,

At school, I never liked geography. All this learning things by heart. What’s the capital of Angola? Where is Trinidad and Tobago? What’s the population of Monaco? Don’t get me wrong. All useful things, just not really fun.

At school, I really liked collecting stickers. You know, the ones that go in a particular album with an empty space reserved for each sticker. For us, the kids of post Soviet Union times, yet unspoiled by the plethora of the shiny goods from the West, it was THE thing. They would issue one album, and it would immediately go viral so that all kids would spend all their pocket money on those stickers. Trading and exchanging would become the main recess activity in the school yard. Nobody asked themselves what they were going to do once the album got filled. It was all about the process.

I still remember going to that kiosk on my way home every time I had some pocket money left. I would give the lady my spare change and would anxiously wait for her to finish counting the coins to finally hand me over those little green packages. Hurry up, woman! And I would tear them right there on the spot. This one I have already, this one too, oh, and I have like 10 of those flying around. Wait, I think this is a new one! A new one! My precious!

The longer you were in the game, the fewer such moments would become. But they were worth carrying on.

I haven’t thought about it in at least 15 years. But I guess old affections die hard and are meanwhile just hiding in the attic of subconsciousness waiting for their chance to come back.

After I started blogging, My Stats showing my blog’s statistics became a morning newspaper to me. I didn’t notice it at first, but My Stats came with a sticker album. When it was still empty I didn’t pay much attention. But when the blanks spaces started to fill the obsession from my school days suddenly surfaced. Need-to-fill-empty-spaces-with-colors!

WorldDomination_16.11

Last update: 16.11.2013

I still remember the day when I conquered Russia. Russia was tough. I was staring at it morning after morning wondering how is it possible that from all those 143 something million people nobody came to visit yet. And then one day it happened. Suddenly, this huge empty space in my Album of World Domination got filled with a gentle orange! But don’t get me wrong. Morocco and Uganda are equally precious to me. I even can find Uganda on the map now. My geography teacher would be so proud!

Why I’m remembering this today? Today is the day I conquered Republic of Korea. Just so you know: I don’t keep any Excel sheet with records or something (I’m not this kind of crazy), but as not much is going on My Stats anyway, a new sticker always catches my attention. So how are you doing, Republic of Korea? I wonder what led you here. Any chance you could pass a link to your northern neighbor? You can choose the crappiest post you can find so that they don’t get wrong ideas and think you are playing nice now.

So I was thinking, why not get this sticker game on a new level?

I have an offer for you, guys.

Below is the list of the countries that have already found their place in my album. If you know somebody in a country whose name is not on the list, please pass them a link to any post you like from this blog and leave the name of their country in the comments. If they show up I promise to write a post dedicated solely to this newly conquered place. Nothing Wikipedia boring, but weird me-style, as usual.

How does this sound? This offer will also be featured on my front page. I’ll keep you posted.

Together we can conquer the world!

Countries that are already in my Album of World Domination:

Angola, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guadeloupe, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Pakistan, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States.

