Tags

, , ,

GoodNewsMonday

Good morning, world. This is Good News Monday and I, Gill Andrews, your herald of the good news and restorer of your faith in humanity.

Unfortunately, I can’t share a personal piece of good news with you this time, as I spent the whole week in bed with a nasty flue. The only good news at this point is that the level of my suffering went down from “please kill me now” to “I guess I would live, but give me more pills”. But this is not the news we are all here for. So in today’s episode of Good News Monday I would like to share some news I came across online.

Today on Good News Monday:

Parents, Kids and The Village

Somewhere in Texas

In times when bullying and cruelty among kids towards each other became such a big problem, this piece of news will show you that there is still hope. There are still kids out there who are, well, more than all right. I don’t want to say anything further. Just have a look yourself.

But what does it take to raise a “good kid”? They say, a village. I say, patience, love and a good example, like that coach Peter Morales. Is it easy? No. And sometimes the “rest of the village” makes it even harder.

How often have you felt irritated by a toddler having a screaming breakdown? How often have you given a bad look to a mother of a misbehaving kid thinking it’s her fault? And how often have you helped them or at least felt sympathetic?

Somewhere in California

A mother with two kids walked into a restaurant. Her life at the moment couldn’t have been harder. A victim of a domestic violence, she was going through a tough divorce and took a year off from college to sort the things out. To keep the family’s spirit up, she would take her kids to eat out every Friday, and this time it was Pizza Hut. She knew the kids would get very loud again. Her son had Asperger’s and ADHD, and her daughter was showing “bullying tendencies”, as the doctor put it. So before the family even set down she went straight to a man sitting in a neighbor booth to apologize for their loud behavior in advance. The man said she shouldn’t worry, that he has three kids of his own, so he understands.

After the man in the neighbor booth finished his meal and left, a waitress came to the family table. She said that man paid for their dinner and left a Pizza Hut gift card for them, along with a note. The note said the following:

“I do not know your back story, but I have had the privilege of watching you parent your children for the past 30 minutes. I have to say thank you for parenting your children in such a loving manner.
I have watched you teach your children about the importance of respect, education, proper manners, communication, self control, and kindness all while being very patient. I will never cross your path again but am positive that you and your children have amazing futures.
Keep up the good work and when it starts to get tough do not forget that others may be watching and will need the encouragement of seeing a good family being raised. God bless! -Jake”

(original story and video here)

. . .

And on this note – or shall I say, with this note – I’d like to wish you a great Monday and a wonderful week.

Thanks for staying with me. This was the Good News Monday on True Stories with Gill Andrews.

Watch and read all episodes of Good News Monday here.

